St. Louis Blues Ryan O’Reilly Up For King Clancy Memorial Trophy

The St. Louis Blues acquired Ryan O’Reilly for his hockey talents. In the end, they got much more than just a hockey player.

The St. Louis Blues are safely in Edmonton and they are preparing to begin another journey in the 2020 playoffs. Without a doubt, Ryan O’Reilly‘s main goal is to win another Stanley Cup along with his teammates.

However, he also continues to get recognized by media and league officials. After being named a finalist for the Lady Byng Trophy and Selke Award, O’Reilly has been nominated for one more award.

O’Reilly has been nominated for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy. The award is given to “the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”

Your average Blues fan can fill you in about all the on-ice leadership qualities of O’Reilly. If Alex Pietrangelo manages to slip away in free agency, O’Reilly is one of the names that would leap to mind to be the team’s next captain because of it.

It is the off-ice leadership and contributions that not as many fans have the fortune of seeing. Yet, in reality, that fact makes it all the more admirable that O’Reilly does all the work he does outside of hockey.

He is not in it for fame or notoriety. He is doing it for the good of those he is around.

If his presence or a bit of time can make someone’s day better or brighter, he finds time to do it.

For now, O’Reilly is merely a nominee, presumably one of 31. The finalists will be announced in August and the winner will be named during the conference finals.

A committee of league executives, led by Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly will determine the winner.

According to the news release on the Blues website, the following is the criteria they use:

* Clear and measurable positive impact on the community
* Investment of time and resources
* Commitment to a particular cause or community
* Commitment to the League’s community initiatives
* Creativity of programming
* Use of influence; engagement of others

The last member of the St. Louis Blues to win this award was Kelly Chase in 1988. A couple former Blues won it after leaving St. Louis, including Brendan Shanahan and Doug Weight.

Next: NHL gets bubble right as MLB struggles

If O’Reilly were to win, he would receive $25,000 for the charity, or charities, of his choice. The two runners up get $5,000 for charity.