Where will the 2024 NHL Draft be held?

The Sphere in Las Vegas
The Sphere in Las Vegas / Anadolu/GettyImages

The NHL Lottery is over, and there were no surprises.

The San Jose Sharks were awarded the No.1 pick in the NHL Draft, leaving the Chicago Blackhawks with the No.2 pick. With no changes, the fourteen remaining teams remained in their original positions, reflecting their team standings.

In addition to their original pick, the San Jose Sharks also have the No. 14 pick, which they obtained from the Pittsburgh Penguins through a prior trade.

When is the draft?

Round 1–Friday, June 28th

Rounds 2 to 7–Saturday, June 29th  

Both ESPN and SN networks will air the 2024 NHL Draft.

Where is the draft being held?

Hockey fans can mark their calendars as Las Vegas, Nevada, gears up to host the exciting 2024 NHL Draft.

The highly anticipated event, scheduled to take place at the Sphere entertainment arena, is expected to attract fans from all around the globe.

News broke on X advertising the upcoming event:

Top Talent

Macklin Celebrini, a center from Boston University, is expected to be selected as the top pick in the upcoming draft. By attending the Draft Lottery, Celebrini had the chance to listen to San Jose Sharks GM Mike Grier imply that the Sharks have plans to draft him.

Several analysts expect that the Chicago Blackhawks will choose Ivan Demidov, a highly talented right-winger, as the No. 2 selection.

The list of top-5 talent doesn't end there; it also includes Artyom Levshunov, a standout defenseman, Cayden Lindstrom, a skilled center, Sam Dickinson, a defenseman, and Cole Eiserman, a left winger.

Draft Order

  1. San Jose Sharks
  2. Chicago Blackhawks
  3. Anaheim Ducks
  4. Columbus Blue Jackets
  5. Montreal Canadiens
  6. Utah
  7. Ottawa Senators
  8. Seattle Kraken
  9. Calgary Flames
  10. New Jersey Devils
  11. Buffalo Sabres
  12. Philadelphia Flyers
  13. Minnesota Wild
  14. San Jose Sharks (from Pittsburgh Penguins)
  15. Detroit Red Wings
  16. St. Louis Blues

The final positions will be decided by the results of the ongoing Stanley Cup Playoffs.